Alphabetical List of Databases :: Utah Tech University Library & Open Learning Services

Alphabetical List of Subscription Databases

Jump to
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

ABI/INFORM (ProQuest): Business, management, and trade database containing scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, business cases, and global and trade news.
African American Music Reference (Alexander Street Press): Contains reference materials that cover blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. Part of the Music Online collection.
Alexander Street (Alexander Street Press): Streaming audio and videos on therapy, counseling, dance, and music.
American Song (Alexander Street Press): This is a history database that allows people to hear music from America’s past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Part of the Music Online collection.
Annual Reviews: A collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson): Full text coverage from the Wilson database of periodicals and journals of articles on art, architecture and archaeology throughout the world.
Art Song Transpositions: Digital sheet music database of 13,000+ Art Songs and Baroque arias in any key.
Artemis Literary Sources (Gale): Provides literary content from primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Integrates material from Literature Resources Center, Literature Criticism Online, and LitFinder
ARTstor on JSTOR: Curated collections of art images and associated data for scholarly use. Includes links to art images in museum collections and reference materials.
ASME Digital Collection (The American Society of Mechanical Engineers): ASME’s repository of current and archival literature featuring ASME’s Transaction Journals, Conference Proceedings, and ASME Press eBooks.
Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library: An authoritative database in the area of computer science that provides indexing, abstracts, and full text of magazines, journals and proceedings of the Association of Computing Machinery.
ASTM Compass: Database of standards documents.
Bioinformatics (Oxford Academic): A leading journal in its field, Bioinformatics publishes the high quality scientific papers and review articles of interest to academic and industrial researchers on new developments in genome bioinformatics and computational biology. One distinct section within the journal, Application Notes, focuses on shorter papers exploring the applications used for experiments.
BioOne: Full text database that is an aggregation of high impact geoscience research journals. The focus centers on the biological, environmental, and ecological sciences.
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD): Index of reviews (some full text) for children’s literature with some curriculum connections for specific books. Supports the Education Program and classes in children’s literature taught in the English program.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost): This database provides provides broad content coverage of 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and indexing for nearly 5,500 journals and full text access for more than 1,300 key journals in the nursing field.
Classical Music Library (Alexander Street Press): Streaming music database. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Part of the Music Online collection.
Classical Music Reference Library (Alexander Street Press): Contains reference materials that span the entire history of Western classical music. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker’s Dictionary of Music, Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker’s Student Encyclopedia of Music. Part of the Music Online collection.
Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press): Provides a number of important classical scores and manuscripts. Part of the Music Online collection.
Cochrane Library: A collection of healthcare databases that include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost): This database indexing, abstracts, and some full-text coverage of numerous journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press): Streaming music database that delivers sounds from around the world. Contains a mix of modern and traditional world music with a focus on contemporary genres. Part of the Music Online collection.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press): Videos that provide a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
CQ Researcher: Explores a single hot issue in the news each week, covering 44 topics, including expanded reports. Especially useful for pro/con presentation of issues currently being discussed. This is an excellent place to search for term paper topics.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost): Provides more than 300,000 bibliographic records and full text for more than 200 magazines and journals covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
Curiosity: An interdisciplinary journal focusing on innovation with publications by outstanding undergraduates and established scholars.
Digital Theatre+: Streaming theater productions, interviews, and written content.
Dissertations & Theses at Brigham Young University: Link to BYU’s electronic theses and dissertation collection.
Dissertations & Theses at the University of Utah: Proquest database of theses from the University of Utah. Some dissertations available in full text, some only in abstract format.
Dissertations & Theses at Utah Tech University: Link to UT’s electronic theses and dissertation collection.
DOCUTAH International Documentary Film Festival: DOCUTAH is an International Film Festival presented by Utah Tech University in St. George, Utah. View information about the festival, the films, and watch trailers.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection: Provides online access to more than 3,500 books to browse or to read.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson): Full-text coverage, with indexing and abstracts from periodicals and journals covered in the HW Wilson Education Index.
Education Week: Education Week is a United States national newspaper covering K–12 education. It is published by Editorial Projects in Education (EPE), a nonprofit organization, which is headquartered in Bethesda, Maryland in Greater Washington DC. The newspaper publishes 37 issues a year, three of them special annual reports (Quality Counts, Technology Counts, and Diplomas Count).
ERIC: ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest): A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost): Comprised of four database files, Family & Society Studies Worldwide meets educational needs of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. It indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Gale Access: A broad collection of authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content. To search a particular Gale database, click here.
Gale Directory Library: Provides access to the Market Share Reporter, a source of comparative business statistics.
Gale eBooks: An online reference utility that hosts selected encyclopedias and other reference publications.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data on today’s hottest social issues for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Alexander Street Press): Provides a survey of the musical heritage, traditions and themes of various regions and a description of their specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Part of the Music Online collection.
GenderWatch (ProQuest): Indexing, abstracts and full-text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, conference reports on gender studies sources with coverage from the 1970’s to the present.
Geology (GeoScienceWorld): A journal of The Geological Society of America.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost): A database focused on environmental issues; some full text, some indexing and abstracting.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (EBSCOhost): Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals in the health and social sciences. HaPI provides comprehensive information about behavioral measurement tools, including those related to medicine and nursing, as well as clinical, personality, social, and developmental psychology.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research): An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library: Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
IPA Source: The web’s largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of aria and art song texts designed to assist singers with foreign language diction and communication.
JAMA (The Journal of the American Medical Association): A peer-reviewed medical journal published by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of the biomedical sciences. Utah Tech University only provides full-text access to JAMA and JAMA Network Open.
Jazz Music Library (Alexander Street Press): Streaming music database with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Part of the Music Online collection.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database (JBI EBP): The JBI EBP Database is an online resource that includes high quality, relevant, up to date evidence-based information and guidance for health professionals to inform decisions made at the point of care.
JSTOR: A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
JSTOR Plant Science: Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science—plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.
LearningExpress Library (Utah’s Online Library): Provides comprehensive test preparation, skills improvement resources, and career guidance for elementary students to adult learners. Each of the Library’s Learning Centers offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information. Free registration is required on the site.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCOhost): Indexing and abstracts for scholarly and professional journals in the areas of library and information technology.
The Making of Modern Law: US Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832–1978 Archives (Gale): Features a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages and more than 350,000 separate documents. Approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. Supreme Court Records and Briefs gives researchers a logical approach to the material and allows faculty members and students alike easy access to a vast portion of legal and social science literature.
MarketLine Company Profiles Authority (EBSCOhost): Profiles for 10,000 companies. Information includes business description, company history, products and services, key employee/biographies, revenue and SWOT analysis and top competitors.
MathSciNet: Offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Provides indexing and abstracts—a finding aid for scholarship in this discipline.
MEDLINE (Web of Science): Indexing and abstracting for medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. This is a standard reference to locate articles for the fields of medicine and allied health.
Mergent Intellect: A web-based application that features a collection of worldwide business information including access to international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and more.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost): This database offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. Topics include language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Some material is in full text, many others are bibliographic citations or abstracts.
Music Online (Alexander Street Press): Database with streaming audio, video, reference, and scores. Includes the collections African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, Dance in Video, and Opera in Video.
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century (Salem History): Biographical information on composers from all genres.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS): The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
NAXOS Music Library: Audio streams of more than 27,000 CDs and over 350,000 tracks of music. Provides comprehensive liner notes, opera synopsis, and composer and artist biographies. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
The New England Journal of Medicine: A leading medical journal that provides high-quality, peer-reviewed research and clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
The New York Times for Education: Access to the New York Times provided by Utah Tech University. The creation of a separate NYT account is required.
Nexis Uni: Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCOhost): This resource can be used to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.
O’Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online): Search, browse, read, and print full-text information technology books online. Includes titles from O’Reilly, Pearson, Cisco Press, and more. Search through a wide variety of titles covering databases, desktop applications and publishing, enterprise computing, graphics, markup languages, multimedia, networking, operating systems, programming, security, and software engineering.
Overland Journeys: Travels In The West, 1800–1880 (Gale): Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800–1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841–1869.
Ovid Journals: Provides indexes and backfiles for hundreds of clinical journals that cover a wide variety of health topics. Also contains current articles from the American Journal of Nursing (AJN), the Journal of Nursing Administration (JONA), and the Journal for Nurses in Staff Development.
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED): Historical dictionary of English, covering use of words from earliest times to present day.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Provides in-depth, high-level articles written by the world’s leading scholars.
Oxford Music Online: Provides access to online music reference resources including the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford Reference Online - Premium: Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
Project MUSE: Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest Central: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of thousands of journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
ProQuest Ebook Central: A large e-book collection spanning all academic subject areas.
ProQuest Global Newsstream: Contains global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This database provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium: A multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support complete with a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources. Includes over 950 videos teaching clinical skills, such as the Nursing Education in Video set from Medcom/Alexander Street. Indexes over 2000 scholarly journals, many with full text.
ProQuest Sociology Collection: This collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.
ProQuest US Newsstream: Full-text of the most recent premium U.S. news content as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
PsycArticles (EBSCOhost): PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsychiatryOnline: Provides access to the DSM-5 and DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) and a selection of journals of particular interest to students in nursing or psychology. Limited to 2 concurrent users.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost): This database is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed: Contains more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Fields covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
R2 Digital Library: Provides a selection of ebooks focused on the health sciences. Limited to three concurrent users.
ReferenceUSA: A research and reference source for businesses, jobs, and people.
Sage Journals Online: General purpose database for scholarly articles.
Sage Knowledge: Offers access to selected reference encyclopedias, handbooks, and videos with coverage mostly in the areas of social sciences and health care.
Salem Press: Reference resources for psychology, health, historical topics, and literary criticism.
Science (AAAS): A weekly, peer-reviewed journal by the American Association for the Advancement of Science that publishes significant original scientific research, plus reviews as well as commentary on current research, science policy, and issues of interest to the broad scientific community.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier): Extensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects. Excellent searching capabilities and full text access. An excellent resource for authoritative information in many subject disciplines.
SciFinder (CAS): A research discovery application that provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder requires students to create an account to access it. Click here to register a new SciFinder account.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries (Alexander Street Press): Streaming music database. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, it is a virtual encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions. Part of the Music Online collection.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost): This database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Swank Digital Campus: Academic streaming service that provides feature films, documentaries, foreign films, and TV shows.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost): Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
TESOL Quarterly and TESOL Journal: Refereed journals for teachers of English as a second language.
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint: A federal and state tax information service. Register an account by visiting the Checkpoint registration webpage.
UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer): Decision support resource for healthcare professionals.
UPA Newspaper Archives: This collection provides archives of Utah newspapers.
Utah Digital Newspapers: A keyword-searchable statewide digital newspaper repository that currently contains 3.5 million pages from nearly 200 newspapers.
Web of Science: Consolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary listings of articles in 8,500 major scholarly journals. Limited full text access. Clusters results in subject areas and document types.
Women’s Issues and Identities (Gale): Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women’s lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women’s history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.