Education Databases
Start with these databases:
Other databases:
-
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of
10,021 journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place
for almost any topic search.
-
Education Week
- Education Week is a United States national newspaper covering
K–12 education. It is published by Editorial Projects in Education (EPE), a
nonprofit organization, which is headquartered in Bethesda, Maryland in
Greater Washington DC. The newspaper publishes 37 issues a year, three of them
special annual reports (Quality Counts, Technology Counts, and
Diplomas Count).
-
ERIC
- ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
-
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost)
- Comprised of four database files, Family & Society Studies
Worldwide meets educational needs of professionals in all fields of
social work, social science and family practice. It indexes publications from
a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology,
psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history
and social work.
-
JSTOR
- A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to
archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of
subject areas.
-
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly
specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than
350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational
reports.
-
Project MUSE
- Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences
journals.
-
PsycArticles, PsycBooks, PsycInfo, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
- A convenience link for searching these psychology-oriented databases
simultaneously.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
- This database covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics,
psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational
& experimental methods. Offers full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
-
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
- This database is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles,
book chapters, books, and dissertations and is the largest resource devoted to
peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains
approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s
with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the
1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400
periodicals in dozens of languages.
-
Sage Journals Online
- General purpose database for scholarly articles.
-
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Extensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects.
Excellent searching capabilities and full text access. An excellent resource
for authoritative information in many subject disciplines.
-
TESOL Quarterly and
TESOL Journal
- Refereed journals for teachers of English as a second language.
-
UEN Digital Media Service
- Collection of educational videos available to K-12 educators, college
faculty and students, as well as the general public. Includes eMedia,
CollegeMedia, PreMedia and MediaHub. Free registration is required on the
site.
Catalog with reviews:
-
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
- Index of reviews (some full text) for children’s literature with some
curriculum connections for specific books. Supports the Education Program and
classes in children’s literature taught in the English program.
Reference databases:
-
Gale eBooks
- An online reference utility that hosts selected encyclopedias and other
reference publications.
-
Oxford Reference Online - Premium
- Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross
searchable reference.
-
Sage Knowledge
- Offers access to selected reference encyclopedias, handbooks, and videos
with coverage mostly in the areas of social sciences and health care.
K-12 content and interfaces designed for children:
-
Explora (EBSCOhost)
- A kid-friendly interface to EBSCOhost databases for educators,
primary,
and secondary schools.
Provides topic overviews, reading level indicators, and a curriculum standards
module to help educators correlate content to Common Core and state-specific
curriculum standards.
-
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
- This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety
of subject areas.
-
MAS Complete (EBSCOhost)
- Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains
full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books,
tens of thousands of biographies, and thousands of primary source documents.
This is useful to education students seeking resources for students at
different levels and to students who are writing papers on current issues.
-
Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost)
- Provides full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All
full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level
indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies
and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies,
105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps
and flags.
-
Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
- This database provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for
elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are
assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) and full text information dates as
far back as 1990.
-
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
- Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and
administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Other useful resources:
-
Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University
Library.
-
Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
-
Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
-
Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
-
WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.
