English Language and Literature Databases
Start with these databases:
-
JSTOR
- A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to
archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of
subject areas.
-
Project MUSE
- Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences
journals.
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
- This database offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and
dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. Topics include
language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Some material is in full text,
many others are bibliographic citations or abstracts.
Other article databases:
-
ProQuest Central
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of
thousands of journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting
place for almost any topic search.
-
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
- Index of reviews (some full text) for children’s literature with some
curriculum connections for specific books. Supports the Education Program and
classes in children’s literature taught in the English program.
-
Digital Theatre+
- Streaming theater productions, interviews, and written content.
-
Web of Science
- Consolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary
listings of articles in 8,500 major scholarly journals. Limited full text
access. Clusters results in subject areas and document types.
Reference databases:
-
Gale eBooks
- An online reference utility that hosts selected encyclopedias and other
reference publications.
-
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
- Historical dictionary of English, covering use of words from earliest
times to present day.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online
- Provides in-depth, high-level articles written by the world’s leading
scholars.
-
Oxford Reference Online - Premium
- Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross
searchable reference.
-
Sage Knowledge
- Offers access to selected reference encyclopedias, handbooks, and videos
with coverage mostly in the areas of social sciences and health care.
-
Salem Press
- Reference resources for psychology, health, historical topics, and
literary criticism.
Other useful resources:
-
Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University
Library.
-
Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
-
Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
-
Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
-
WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.
