General/Multi-Subject Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of 10,021 journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
- Academic Search Ultimate, MasterFILE Premier & Business Source Premier (EBSOhost)
- A convenience link for searching the Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Business Source Premier databases simultaneously.
- CQ Researcher
- Explores a single hot issue in the news each week, covering 44 topics, including expanded reports. Especially useful for pro/con presentation of issues currently being discussed. This is an excellent place for students to search for term paper topics.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data on today’s hottest social issues for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- Gale eBooks
- An online reference utility that hosts selected encyclopedias and other reference publications.
- JSTOR
- A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- LearningExpress Library (Utah’s Online Library)
- Provides comprehensive test preparation, skills improvement resources, and career guidance for elementary students to adult learners. Each of the Library’s Learning Centers offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information. Free registration is required on the site.
- Nexis Uni
- Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
- Historical dictionary of English, covering use of words from earliest times to present day.
- Oxford Handbooks Online
- Provides in-depth, high-level articles written by the world’s leading scholars.
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium
- Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
- This database contains 343 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
- Project MUSE
- Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
- ProQuest US Newsstream
- Full-text of the most recent premium U.S. news content as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
- Sage Journals Online
- General purpose database for scholarly articles.
- Sage Knowledge
- Offers access to selected reference encyclopedias, handbooks, and videos with coverage mostly in the areas of social sciences and health care.
- Salem Press
- Reference resources for psychology, health, historical topics, and literary criticism.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Extensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects. Excellent searching capabilities and full text access. An excellent resource for authoritative information in many subject disciplines.
- Web of Knowledge
- Consolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary listings of articles in 8,500 major scholarly journals. Limited full text access. Clusters results in subject areas and document types.
Other useful resources:
- Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University Library.
- Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
- Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
- Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
- WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.