History Databases
Article databases:
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of 10,021 journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
- American Song (Alexander Street Press)
- This is a history database that allows people to hear music from America’s past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
- Citation index that provides consolidated searching of a social science citation index, art and humanities citation index and multi disciplinary databases—may be searched by author, title, subject, and topic. These are citations of usage, not full text and will be useful primarily to upper division students and faculty doing research.
- Biography Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
- A comprehensive collection of biographies on notable personalities.
- Fuente Académica (EBSCOhost)
- Provides access to more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
- History Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
- Provides full text for reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and periodicals from leading history publishers.
- JSTOR
- A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- The New York Times for Education
- Access to the New York Times provided by Utah Tech University. The creation of a separate NYT account is required.
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium
- Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
- Project MUSE
- Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
- Salem Press
- Reference resources for psychology, health, historical topics, and literary criticism.
Other useful resources:
- Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University Library.
- Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
- Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
- Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
- WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.