Music and Dance Databases
Research databases:
- ProQuest Central
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of thousands of journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- Full text coverage from the Wilson database of periodicals and journals of articles on art, architecture and archaeology throughout the world.
- JSTOR
- A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Project MUSE
- Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Sage Journals Online
- General purpose database for scholarly articles.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
- This database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
- Web of Science
- Consolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary listings of articles in 8,500 major scholarly journals. Limited full text access. Clusters results in subject areas and document types.
Reference databases:
- African American Music Reference (Alexander Street Press)
- Contains reference materials that cover blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Classical Music Reference Library (Alexander Street Press)
- Contains reference materials that span the entire history of Western classical music. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker’s Dictionary of Music, Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker’s Student Encyclopedia of Music. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Alexander Street Press)
- Provides a survey of the musical heritage, traditions and themes of various regions and a description of their specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Part of the Music Online collection.
- IPA Source
- The web’s largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of aria and art song texts designed to assist singers with foreign language diction and communication.
- Music Online (Alexander Street Press)
- Database with streaming audio, video, reference, and scores. Includes the collections African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, Dance in Video, and Opera in Video.
- Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century (Salem History)
- Biographical information on composers from all genres.
- NAXOS Music Library
- Audio streams of more than 27,000 CDs and over 350,000 tracks of music. Provides comprehensive liner notes, opera synopsis, and composer and artist biographies. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
- Oxford Handbooks Online
- Provides in-depth, high-level articles written by the world’s leading scholars.
- Oxford Music Online
- Provides access to online music reference resources including the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium
- Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
Streaming audio and video databases:
- Alexander Street (Alexander Street Press)
- Streaming audio and videos on therapy, counseling, dance, and music.
- American Song (Alexander Street Press)
- This is a history database that allows people to hear music from America’s past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Classical Music Library (Alexander Street Press)
- Streaming music database. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press)
- Streaming music database that delivers sounds from around the world. Contains a mix of modern and traditional world music with a focus on contemporary genres. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Dance in Video (Alexander Street Press)
- Streaming videos of 20th century dance performances & documentaries on dance and dance training. Limited to 3 concurrent users.
- Jazz Music Library (Alexander Street Press)
- Streaming music database with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Music Online (Alexander Street Press)
- Database with streaming audio, video, reference, and scores. Includes the collections African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, Dance in Video, and Opera in Video.
- NAXOS Music Library
- Audio streams of more than 27,000 CDs and over 350,000 tracks of music. Provides comprehensive liner notes, opera synopsis, and composer and artist biographies. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
- Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries (Alexander Street Press)
- Streaming music database. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, it is a virtual encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions. Part of the Music Online collection.
Scores:
- Art Song Transpositions
- Digital sheet music database of 13,000+ Art Songs and Baroque arias in any key.
- Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press)
- Provides a number of important classical scores and manuscripts. Part of the Music Online collection.
Other useful resources:
- Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University Library.
- Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
- Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
- Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
- WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.