News and Current Events
Article databases:
- The Chronicle of Higher Education
- A newspaper targeted to college and university faculty, staff members and administrators.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
- A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)
- Indexing, abstracts and full-text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, conference reports on gender studies sources with coverage from the 1970’s to the present.
- MasterFILE Complete (EBSCOhost)
- Multidisciplinary database designed for public libraries that covers virtually every subject area of general interest. Provides a large collection of popular full-text magazines, journals, and other sources from the world’s leading publishers as well as a large image collection of photos, maps and flags.
- The New York Times for Education
- Access to the New York Times provided by Utah Tech University. The creation of a separate NYT account is required.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost)
- With more than 55 million full-text articles from more than 1,400 newspapers, this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world’s major newspaper content.
- Nexis Uni
- Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- ProQuest US Newsstream
- Full-text of the most recent premium U.S. news content as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
- Provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Salt Lake Tribune
- Online access to this Utah newspaper provided through ProQuest. Coverage from September 24th, 1990 to present.
- TOPICSearch (EBSCOhost)
- This database contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- UPA Newspaper Archives
- This collection provides archives of Utah newspapers.
- Utah Digital Newspapers
- A keyword-searchable statewide digital newspaper repository that currently contains 3.5 million pages from nearly 200 newspapers.
Other useful resources:
- Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University Library.
- Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
- Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
- Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
- WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.