Political Science and Law Databases
Start with these databases:
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of 10,021 journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
- Legal Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Contains indexing, abstracts, and full text coverage for more than 260 of the world’s scholarly law journals.
- Nexis Uni
- Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Extensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects. Excellent searching capabilities and full text access. An excellent resource for authoritative information in many subject disciplines.
Other article databases:
- CQ Researcher
- Explores a single hot issue in the news each week, covering 44 topics, including expanded reports. Especially useful for pro/con presentation of issues currently being discussed. This is an excellent place to search for term paper topics.
- JSTOR
- A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
- Project MUSE
- Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Sage Journals Online
- General purpose database for scholarly articles.
- Salem Press
- Reference resources for psychology, health, historical topics, and literary criticism.
- Web of Knowledge
- Consolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary listings of articles in 8,500 major scholarly journals. Limited full text access. Clusters results in subject areas and document types.
Reference databases:
- Gale eBooks
- An online reference utility that hosts selected encyclopedias and other reference publications.
- Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
- Provides online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium
- Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
- Sage Knowledge
- Offers access to selected reference encyclopedias, handbooks, and videos with coverage mostly in the areas of social sciences and health care.
Other useful resources:
- Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University Library.
- Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
- Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
- Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
- WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.