Science, Engineering and Mathematics Databases
Start with these databases:
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Extensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects. Excellent searching capabilities and full text access. An excellent resource for authoritative information in many subject disciplines.
- Web of Knowledge
- Consolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary listings of articles in 8,500 major scholarly journals. Limited full text access. Clusters results in subject areas and document types.
- BioOne
- Full text database that is an aggregation of high impact geoscience research journals. The focus centers on the biological, environmental, and ecological sciences.
- MathSciNet
- Offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Provides indexing and abstracts—a finding aid for scholarship in this discipline.
Article databases:
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of 10,021 journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
- Agricola (EBSCOhost)
- An agriculture database that provides coverage from 1970 to present of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, software, etc. related to agriculture. This will be of particular interest for students researching Environmental Sciences.
- Annual Reviews
- A collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
- ASME Digital Collection (The American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
- ASME’s repository of current and archival literature featuring ASME’s Transaction Journals, Conference Proceedings, and ASME Press eBooks.
- ASTM Compass
- Database of standards documents.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
- JSTOR
- A scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- JSTOR Plant Science
- Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science—plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.
- Project MUSE
- Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Sage Journals Online
- General purpose database for scholarly articles.
- SciFinder (CAS)
- A research discovery application that provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder requires students to create an account to access it. Click here to register a new SciFinder account.
Reference databases:
- Gale eBooks
- An online reference utility that hosts selected encyclopedias and other reference publications.
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium
- Language and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
- Sage Knowledge
- Offers access to selected reference encyclopedias, handbooks, and videos with coverage mostly in the areas of social sciences and health care.
- Science Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
- Provides full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Individual journals:
- Bioinformatics (Oxford Academic)
- A leading journal in its field, Bioinformatics publishes the high quality scientific papers and review articles of interest to academic and industrial researchers on new developments in genome bioinformatics and computational biology. One distinct section within the journal, Application Notes, focuses on shorter papers exploring the applications used for experiments.
- Geology (GeoScienceWorld)
- A journal of The Geological Society of America.
Other useful resources:
- Library Catalog
- Search for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University Library.
- Electronic Books
- A list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
- Full-Text Periodicals List
- Find a specific journal or magazine.
- Interlibrary loan
- Borrow materials from other libraries.
- WorldCat Discovery
- Search library catalogs in Utah and beyond.